Egg Facts

Eggs are classified into either Class A or Class B.  Class A is the highest grade and eggs can be sold as ‘shell eggs’.  Class B eggs have usually been damaged in some way so are broken out and pasteurised.   So the shell eggs we purchase are Grade A eggs.

All eggs must show date of lay/best before date.  In the UK we have now irradiated the presence of Salmonella in Lion Marked Eggs.  This makes these eggs safe for raw or lightly cooked consumption.  Note that this only applies to Lion Marked eggs as the Lion Mark signifies a common welfare standard and that all the hens have been vaccinated against Salmonella

So, what do the codes on our eggs mean?

Class A eggs must be stamped with a code such as OUK54321, and British Lion eggs also have a best before date and carry the Lion logo.

The first number is the farming method:- 0 = organic, 1 = free range, 2 = barn, 3 = cage.

Next comes Country of Origin eg. UK

Lastly is the Farm ID.


To keep eggs at the best quality, store in the refrigerator below ready to eat foods.

Fun Fact

Did you know that the first chocolate Easter egg was produced in 1873 by Fry’s.  Before this, people would give hollow cardboard eggs, filled with gifts.