Tip of the Week

Eggs are classified into either Class A or Class B.  Class A is the highest grade and eggs can be sold as ‘shell eggs’.  Class B eggs have usually been damaged in some way, so are broken out and pasteurised and used in manufacturing or pasteurised egg yolk etc.  Therefore, the shell eggs we purchase are Grade A eggs.

So, what do the codes on our eggs mean?

Class A eggs must be stamped with a code such as 0 UK54321, and British Lion eggs also have a best before date and carry the Lion logo.

  • The first number is the farming method – 0 = organic, 1 = free range, 2 = barn, 3 = cage
  • Next comes Country of Origin eg. UK and Farm ID.
  • Lastly is the Best Before date

In the UK we have now eradicated the presence of Salmonella in British Lion Marked Eggs only.  This makes eggs marked with the Lion Mark safe for raw or lightly cooked consumption.  The Lion Mark signifies a common welfare standard and shows all the hens have been vaccinated against Salmonella.

If you use eggs from a local farm that does not subscribe to The British Lion Mark organisation, it does not mean there is anything wrong with the eggs.  It just means you cannot guarantee they are free of Salmonella.  Therefore, don’t serve these eggs raw.  If the eggs are not date stamped, ask your farmer to write date of lay on the box/tray.  They are at their best if eaten within 2 weeks of lay but will keep fine for one month.

All eggs must show date of lay/best before date.


To keep eggs at the best quality, store in the refrigerator below ready to eat foods.

Weekly Food Fact

Did you know than an average hen lays between 300 to 325 eggs each year.

Brown eggs are often identified as being better for you, but this is incorrect. There is no nutritional difference between a brown or a white egg.